More!…Said I Need

December 12, 2009

I could use a little more of this.  Wouldn’t hurt a thing, you know?

More growth and accomplishments in my craft as a writer.  More words to add to my novel’s first draft. (Though I topped 50K, I’m probably only halfway finish with the real first draft before the major chopping begins).  More discipline and just-do-itness…enough to not wait till someone calls a Nano for me to get serious about cranking those words outta me.  (But I gotta say, I am so grateful for this kick in the butt contest). 

Need I say “more”?  More love and patience from my underground fans, aka friends and family (lol) who have been anxiously awaiting my book release party for the past couple of years.  Some of them didn’t get the memo about a novel easily taking between 5 to 8 years from concept to hit the shelves.  Less than 5 is the goal, but all I can say right now is that I’m much “more” closer  to “The End” than I was a month ago *wink*. 

Ok, enough “more”.  So.  It’s twelve days into December, the month for editing, and I have not opened my draft since Nov.30.  Frankly, I needed to put it down for a minute, let the story simmer, my characters bake, and my fingers rest.  Nano was no joke!  But as I’ve been sleeping, eating, and thinking about the story, I think I’m ready to get back to the grind.  Heck, I’m interested in knowing how things are going to end up, transition.  At the 50K chapter, my protag was just about to do some soul searching and see the light on a few things..and then all hell breaks loose.  Feels like that steep incline just before the climax, and I’ve gotta deliver the tension…hmm.

I think I’ll crack it open tonight.  Peek inside and take a look around like a visitor.  And then, just as the words begin to sense my presence, I’ll lure them into the sky, and see just how far this draft can fly.

6 Responses to “More!…Said I Need”

  1. kafo Says:

    ah u can’t just be a visitor
    u have to crack it open and get comfortable like a long last brother who comes and sits on your sofa and never leaves

    lol

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    Ha!…and takes his socks off and has smelly feet LOL!

    Thanks for stickin’ in there and keeping me in check, Kafo…I appreciate u *hugz*!

  3. disgodkidd Says:

    i missed this place. merry christmas.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Hey, you! I am in the same boat — haven’t checked on my novel since early December. It’s a daunting prospect, but we can do it!

    I hope you have a wonderful and creative 2010 full of good words and happiness!

  5. ashe.selah Says:

    Aye Matt…this place has missed you!

    Jenn! Let’s go get it, girl! Glad u finally made it to the new year…on the 3rd lol. Here’s to all the creative moments just waiting to meet us :)!

  6. Jaycee (E.A) Says:

    I didn’t even know you moved blogs. Why am I just finding out? Lol. This is great. Would love to know where you are on your first novel as time goes on. Wishing you all the best and definitely great success from God.


Leave a Reply

