I Am The Greatest!

January 29, 2009

I jumped outta bed this morning a little after seven. Jumped because I was supposed to get up at six something to proof and edit Son’s paper I’d typed last night. Son and Daughter greeted me, and proceeded to lead me by hand and arms downstairs. “Close your eyes, Ma!”, said Son. “She can’t close her eyes going downstairs!”, Daughter replied. Son’s turn again, “You’re holding her wrong, she’s not handicapped!”

We reach downstairs, and I immediately closed my eyes to play along. The kids led me near my desk, where, I didn’t really see anything to ooh and ahh about…until.

“Hold up…who’s over there eating that big bowl of fruit?” Ever have kids eat up everything good, before you even get a taste? Well, for once, this was not the case.

“It’s for you, Ma!” And then I see and hear the big picture. Just for me…a big bowl of fresh fruit, orange juice, a big pillow against the back of my chair…and lovingly blasted on my screen in Microsoft Word lol:

thegreatest

Ahhhhhh!!! Is that the best or what?!!! But that’s not all. In the background, I could hear my girl Whitney cranking up….‘If I, should stay, I would only be in your wayyyyy…’ One of my (and their Granddad’s) fave songs, I Will Always Love You, remember?

So, you know I had to slob all over those babies *smile*, while they fussed about who’s idea it was for what. I’m hugging and kissing on them, and Son says smiling, “Don’t get no tears on me, Mama” LOL! Boy, stop trying to know me! It doesn’t take much for me to get all misty…

So, today, I bask in my greatness….so greatful for the sweet thoughts of kindness. I am sooo cheezin’ :)!

asheselah

6 Responses to “I Am The Greatest!”

  1. Kafo Says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    thank God for the gift of children

    i can just imagine your son cringing at your tears falling on his beautiful sweet face

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    You betcha Kafo…they are truly gifts *smiles*!

  3. Maff Says:

    Awww, that is so beautiful. You have awesome kids! đŸ™‚

    Hiiiiii, I know it’s been ages – I’m not quite ready to start writing, but I will start reading again. Just popping in to see how you are and wish you a HAPPY NEW YEAR! I pray ’09 will be a wonderful year for you and I’m looking forward to reacquainting myself with your amazing blog.

    xx Maff

  4. ashe.selah Says:

    Maff!

    It is soooo fab to hear from you, girlie. You’ve been truly missed *smile*….saving the rest for e-mail :)!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    You do have awesome kids!

    It’s amazing how appreciation and love can really push us forward, too. Hope you are well otherwise!

  6. ashe.selah Says:

    Thanks Jennifer! Love and appreciation really are the best motivators…


Leave a Reply

