And on the Eighth Day…

November 25, 2008

photo_112608_001Wasn’t I just here yesterday?  Yep, I was.  Beaming with relief and gratefulness for the newest instance of favor in my life.  A new car….wow.  Nothing can diminish that miracle, its truth.   However, it’s pretty amazing how much can change in 8 days.

Eight.  That’s all it took.  That, and a rainy night in rush hour traffic, dropping hubby off to work a 48-hour.  I just had to have that pesto-basil veggie wrap from Whole Foods for dinner.  Delicious.  I was down to the final left turn into the shopping center when…

BAM!  CRASH!

The car in front of me braked so hard.  As I stopped, a quick glance at the headlights in the rear view mirror told me everything I needed to know…adding to a dark street and wet pavement — “They ain’t gonna make it!”.  All I could do was grab my head and brace for the impact.  Rearended into the vehicle in front of me.  Can you say sandwiched?    For a moment that seemed like an eternity, my body jerked and bounced… backwards and forwards.  God please let it stop!  When it was over, I was thankfully in one (sore) piece… much more than I can say for the car (pic: one of the drivers picked up my emblem from the street).

A car is replaceable.  But there is only one, and will only be one Me *smile*.  Now, I won’t lie and say I wasn’t ticked off cos scraps of my new car of 8 days was lying in the daggone road!, I am sooooo grateful that I was the only one in the car (the kids were safe at show rehearsal), and that I wasn’t seriously injured.  Sure, I’ve got some physical therapy ahead for the back, neck, and forearm strains…but that’s nothing compared to healing broken bones, or losing life.  Thank you God!

The car is in the shop being worked over, and yep, we’re workin’ another blessed rental (what sweet irony…weren’t we running from rentals lol?)  Sure, this is one of the last things I needed in my life right now…honestly, a real drag…but I believe I’ll walk outta this too…real better, real soon…that’s my real hope and prayer.  Ashe.Selah

7 Responses to “And on the Eighth Day…”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I am glad to hear that you are ok — yes, there is only one you, irreplaceable! I hope your new car is back soon, with no signs of its accident. Real better, real soon : it will be ok, but a drag in the meantime.

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    Thanks so much, Jennifer. Everything is in motion to move past this ordeal. I don’t anticipate lengthy PT, and we’ll get the car back soon with guaranteed repairs….I’m thankful :)!


  3. How scary (not to mention a royal pain)! I’m really glad you’re OK though.

    Close calls like that can shake you up for a while afterward though so maybe do something really relaxing for yourself meanwhile? Doesn’t hurt to take a bit of extra care of yourself after something like that, especially if you have the drudge of PT to get through.

  4. ashe.selah Says:

    Hey there CK! Yeah, it was pretty scary. It’s wild how time can stand still or you can feel it travel in slow motion for some of life’s scariest moments….

    Relaxation has been an open TO-DO item on my list for a minute…it’s a crazy season right now…kid science projects, upcoming shows, business matters…whew! I can’t wait to put a check in that box soon :)!

  5. Stephen Bess Says:

    Thank God for his mercy and grace. Nice blog.

  6. ashe.selah Says:

    @ Stephen: You betcha, Stephen! So thankful!…and thank YOU for dropping by. Off to return the favor…cya ’round :)!


  7. […] purple bruise.  The laughter from the audience, in all the right places.  Working 5 of 9 shows, back, neck pain and all — doin’ it for the kids, man.  Daughter  – “Ma, every show…it’s a […]


Leave a Reply

