He Was Just a Baby

September 8, 2008

Today, my morning began with some pretty sad news.  The subject line of the first e-mail in my inbox read, “Update:”, and a former co-worker’s name.  Before I could click the subject, I already knew what the body would say…even though I haven’t seen or thought about this co-worker for over five years.

About 15+ years my senior, he was a great guy with a big heart, big sense of humor, and big on pleasing the customer…a true leader.  He became ill this past summer, diagnosed with cancer, and past on yesterday.

I shared this news and the co-worker’s picture with hubby.  He remembered him and asked how old he was.  When I told him, he responded in the words of Mr. Levine, hubby’s 101 year old (private duty) client:  “He was just a baby.”  That’s the exact same thing Mr. Levine said about my Dad, 75….he was just a baby.

I remember growing up, thinking I had found the proverbial fountain of youth in my youth….”Honor your father and your mother…that your days may be long.”  Hmm, long life.  Made me stop and think for a sec…what in the world are centenarians doing that most aren’t?

Ask anyone 100 years old and up their secret to long life, and you’ll probably get many interesting stories, tonics, beliefs, mantras, habits.  I searched for a few to post here on my blog, I dunno, just as a reminder from those who have gone before and have done what I desire to do — Have a long, productive, fulfilling life.

So, here are a few “very important” top tips from centenarians polled by WebMD.  I’m sure we can all find ourselves somewhere in these tips…areas we can improve upon, tips to start right now, areas where the need for perseverance is confirmed:

  1. Stay close to your family and friends: 90%
  2. Keep your mind active: 89%
  3. Laugh and have a sense of humor: 88%
  4. Stay in touch with your spirituality: 84%
  5. Continue looking forward to each new day: 83%
  6. Keep moving and exercising: 82%
  7. Maintain a sense of independence: 81%
  8. Eat right: 80%
  9. Keep up with news and current events: 63%
  10. Keep making new friends: 63%

Notice how the ideas fall into the well-being of mind, body, and spirit?  How about the connections we have with the rest of humanity?  I’ve made a mental note of areas where I need to turn it up a notch…how ’bout you?

I wonder if I’ll still be blogging at 100 lol…and will you still be my cheer-reader *smile*?  Just a thought…in the meantime, rest in peace old friend :).  Ashe.Selah

5 Responses to “He Was Just a Baby”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    That was said about my mom. She died at 43, I can’t believe it’ll be three years ago, October 12th. I miss her every day.

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    Cynthia, I know there are no words, hun….much too young. Been missing Dad something fierce lately…I will never view Jan. 18th the same again. Our loved ones are never forgotten.

  3. Jaycee Says:

    I loved the ten tips…

  4. ashe.selah Says:

    Me too Jaycee…thoughts to live by :)!


  5. […] week….hubby keeps mentioning me and the kids meeting his client, Mr. Levine.  Strong and coherent for 101, he IS 101!  Mr. Levine hasn’t been feeling too […]


Leave a Reply

