Over 17,000 Breaths a Day…

September 3, 2008

…and how many do we really feel?

I was working yesterday at my desk, and without conscious effort or planning, I took a deep breath. Let my lungs fill up…chest rise, expand…then fall in slow motion. I felt that breath with everything within me. Felt better than good. Made a difference in my entire mood, outlook….refreshed if only for a brief moment. I did it again and again.

I started thinking. How many breaths are we blessed with each day, but we don’t get a chance to feel ’em?  To meet them. To acknowledge their presence…before they get away from us? They come and fade so quickly, when, each breath is actually filled with nourishment for the mind, body, and Spirit. Beautiful, if only to spark gratitude for its gift…Life.

They say the average person takes about 8-14 breaths per minute. I think my Spirit is making me keenly aware…that it misses those regular morning meditations, where I feel and embrace breath (and its Giver). Yeah, a sistah’s been feeling the pillow lately…straight bushed. Still, I cannot let cleansing breaths become foreign to me…not with 17,000 golden opportunities to meet one or two or..thirty…

Go ahead…take a deeep breath. Didn’t that feel wonderful?! 🙂

6 Responses to “Over 17,000 Breaths a Day…”

  1. Jaycee Says:

    This was lovely…I had to steal this and post it up in a designated location. PLUS I took a deep breath and felt every bit of it…:)

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    Awww girl, that’s sweet…steal and post away *smile*. Glad you got your BREATH on :)!


  3. What a beautiful thought/post! =)

  4. ashe.selah Says:

    Thanks CK..inhale, exhale :)!

  5. Kafo Says:

    hmmm i just did.
    i took a deep breath and you are right we are sometime soo caught up in us that we forget to live for Him and appreciate each moment

    thanks

  6. ashe.selah Says:

    Welcome Kafo and good for you :)! It’s funny, each comment to this post reminds me even more to breath and appreciate each moment, as you say. So I thank you…it’s easy to get caught up in go go go, and forget to stop stop stop and breath. I’m getting better with practice (and reminders) *smile*!


Leave a Reply

