Fro Thou Art Loosed

June 23, 2008

Ahhh! Freedom. Sometimes ya gotta let it all hang out. Let it do what it do. And after a minute with my fro on lock down under braids, signing those freedom papers was more than a relief. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed being spoiled by the cornrows, and it’s pretty cool to have hair mid-back every now and then. But the hair and scalp will holla at you when it’s time…submerge me under water pronto!

And that was one highlight (if you can call it that) of a weekend I thought would go totally in another direction. I thought I’d be recouperating from a harrowing visit, and bracing for pharmaceutical side effects, being the natural woman I am.

So pleased that neither happened. The no-show I needed showed up lol, and my X Theory lives on to play another month, having actually had a false positive. I know. Cryptic-speak. Let’s just say I’ve got another month to play doctor.

Other than my non-events, and a day of removing braids, washing, conditioning, and rehearsals for hubby’s next show (bgvs)….I’ve got some FAB family news: Our daughter auditioned and got a role in her first MOVIE!! You go girl! Woohoo!!

Yep…got the message last night, and spoke with the casting director this morning. It’s so funny how it happened. The auditions were 12-4p one day last week…I got the e-mail about auditions around 12:30p. Right, the same day, after the auditions had already started.

The instructions read “bring headshot and resume”. Uh oh, we had just paid for her headshots, but they won’t be available until the end of the month. Still I felt my Mama’s intuition shifting into high gear….She can make this…if only for the practice.

I whip up a resume and re-work the headshot proof into a nice graphic at the top. 2:25p. I check daughter out of camp, “Hey, you wanna audition for a movie?” “Sure, Ma.” “Cool, just go for the experience…get a feel for readings if nothing else, k?” “OK.” See, daughter’s strength is singing and dancing. Other auditions have always been sing a song, do a dance routine. This one? Here’s the script…read lol! I packed the brush and smoothing milk for her wild mane…lo and behold, “Ma, you’re not gonna believe this.”  The only hair bow to her name pops. 3:00p. We stop off at the store to get hair bows. Find parking at the audition. Arrive at the theatre at 3:20p. They call her back at 3:45p. The rush was worth every minute…

Man, we are sooo proud of her. So grateful for this new open door that will lead to endless possibilities — and learning experiences. The sky is not the limit…..*smile*!

13 Responses to “Fro Thou Art Loosed”


  1. Oh, proud Mom. That is sooooooo cool. Congratulations and good luck.

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    I am, Clue…is it that obvious lol? Thanks a bunch :)!

  3. Jewells Says:

    Wow. Cool story! Sounds like she’s well on her way. That just goes to show…what’s meant to be will be.

    The fro looks happy to be loosed. =)

  4. Cynthia Says:

    That’s too cool! Congrats.

    And I love afro puffs! I can’t wait until I grow mine out into one. 🙂 Not sure what I’ll do with it once it’s there but I can’t wait anyway!

  5. ashe.selah Says:

    @Jewells: Hey girlie…yes, she is. And that pre-wash fro wasn’t nearly as happy as the post-wash one lol 🙂

    @ Cynthia: Thanks for the kid cheer, girl! You’re gonna love the fro…if only to satisfy those ‘big hair’ cravings lol. I missed the poof pow, having had hair stuck to my cranium for a minute :)!

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Congratulations to your daughter! You should be proud!

    And good news on the no-show and the reprieve on the pharmaceuticals.

  7. ashe.selah Says:

    Thanks Jenn! Yeah, I dodged two huge bullets, girl…one of them will probably keep coming back until forgiveness becomes bulletproof, feel me? :)….


  8. What a nice fluffy fro. You go sista 🙂

  9. ashe.selah Says:

    *smiles* Hey Bronze!…welcome and thanks for stopping by lady…don’t be a stranger 🙂

  10. orneryswife Says:

    Lol, I thought when I saw the title you were going braless! 🙂 Cool, very cool, about your daughter. I love it when stuff like that happens. Hope you are having a good week!
    TM

  11. ashe.selah Says:

    Hahaha TM! I literally laughed out loud when I read your comment. I do like to let the “girls” out and play when the top works LOL!! Too funny…thanks for the kid love :)…..hope ur world is excellent!


  12. […] is now a “paid” indie, kid actress. You should see her smile beam…staring at the check from the film (in her name, no less..what’s that about?). Matters not that she’s received more money […]


  13. […] Too Much, Too Soon I typically consider myself the chic with the red fro. Well lately, being eight months late with my color touch up, I’ve been the chic with the […]


Leave a Reply

