Winters Have Come and Gone

May 25, 2008

It was time for a break, doncha think lol :). Memorial Day weekend couldn’t get here fast enough. And what better way to spend a 4-day weekend than getting some rest, and taking in the movies with the fam.

There are some cool advantages to having a son and daughter…a complete set lol…so close in age (19mos apart). It’s called the buddy system. I got me a buddy, and hubby’s got one too. Or as we say in our house, “girl business” and “boy business”. So, this weekend at the movies, the boys broke left and saw Raiders of the Lost Ark, and the girls broke right and saw Prince Caspian.

Man, Prince Caspian was awesome…cinematography, costumes/makeup, the landscape of New Zealand – simply breathtaking. C.S. Lewis was a profound writer…fiction (ever read the Screwtape Letters?) and non-fiction (The Four Loves, Studies in Words, and many more). My daughter shared a beautiful takeaway with me. {Without giving away the movie}… “See Mama, children often see what grownups can’t. We try to tell ya, but because we’re little, grown-ups think we’re crazy. We’re right alot of times…we believe!” Interesting. How lovely it is to have the heart of a child…to believe beyond absurdity….that’s my desire.

OK, so here’s the highlight of the movie that did it for me. Yes, that would be the MUSIC — Aahhh! With the end credits rolling, and the theatre cleared, I stood there shaking my head in amazement. A surround sound beauty *smile*. I love it when I stumble upon great music…or rather, great music finds me and makes my world stand still. Take a listen to {drum roll please} A Dance ‘Round the Memory Tree, by Oren Lavie. He’s on my buy list. Timeless…. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Responses to “Winters Have Come and Gone”

  1. Fay Says:

    Thank you for creating such a wonderful blog. It is my pleasure to add Ashe.Selah to Blogging Women. Wishing you continued success!!

  2. Ecstatic Says:

    Nice!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Where do you get all these songs? Leave that, tell me how do you know that I’d love them? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  3. ashe.selah Says:

    Hey there Ecstatic..man, i don’t know lol. The music is all around us…finding me…AND you right here apparently lol. I’ll be sure to leave the breadcrumbs for my fellow music lovers.

    Have a great week :)!

  4. Ecstatic Says:

    *Smiles* Your blog is interesting. Take that as a compliment ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Cynthia Says:

    We should totally do a CD music swap, or maybe an Itunes list swap. I’m interested in the types of music you dig on!

    Very cool. I haven’t seen the first movie yet; I do want to see the second one, though…the eye candy looks better this go around. ::wink::

  6. ashe.selah Says:

    Ha! Mos def, girlie. Sounds like we’ll have some overlap, huh. From country to classical, acoustic to rock to jazz……..isn’t it really all SOUL music? ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Caudillo Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Caudillo!!!

  8. ashe.selah Says:

    *smile*…thx for stopping by, Caudillo :)!


Leave a Reply

