Red Light, Green Light, Stop!!

April 17, 2008

Nah, you moved, go back to start!

Picture it. My ‘hood back in the day on a hot summer’s afternoon. A street filled with 30 or so youngins of all ages…some barefoot, some shirtless…all of us in ‘play clothes’ (Mamas didn’t play messin’ up our good clothes from KMart…at least my Mama didn’t lol)….everybody creeping, tip-toeing, or speed walking towards the kid lucky enough to be the ‘light’. The one who spun around in a circle saying red light, green light, red light, green light….till they felt like saying Stop!! And if you so much as moved a muscle, giggled, sneezed, scratched lol…you were o-u-t out. But! Be the first one to reach the ‘light’, and not only did you win the game, you’re the new ‘light’!

Ahh the pure and simple fun of outdoor childhood games. Kids these days have no idea how fun these games are (I would play them today)…hide-n-go-seek, red rover, stick ball, kickball, tag, four-square…I know there are some other thirty-somethings out there that can feel me..just wave your hand *smile*.

For me though, red light, green light hasn’t ‘stopped’ just because I’m no longer in ponytails and jelly sandals lol. No, red light, green light is on another level now. A game I must play alone…for a ‘Light’ only I can win…with God calling all the ‘stops’.

Lately during my life’s red light, green light, I’ve made some great progress, having advanced closer to my Light (purpose…destiny) than on previous trips coming back from start…go girl! However (uh oh), within the past couple of weeks, I’ve been hearing His emphatic whisper — Stop!! Huh?

Let me be clear. When God announces ‘Stop!!’, He’s not trying to impede or obstruct our progress. He wants nothing more than for us to reach the ‘Light’ He has purposed for us. Thoughts and plans for our good, not harm, right?. So, when He stops me cold in my tracks – it’s not my progress that needs checking per se , it’s how I’m moving…my methods, means, mindsets, and patterns. And the ‘special’ part is…it’s probably something I already thought I had checked.

STOP!!

In the spirit of the game, I thought I was being still, till I noticed I was standing in an ant bed (hot situations I allow myself to get in)…AND a bee started flying overhead lol (people we allow to distract us from our true self and purpose). Attention on the word allow. So, I moved (oops), and got called back to start after all that progress! Daggone it…Boo!

STOP!! complaining about how people use you, when you give more and accept less — (powie!)
STOP!! letting the thoughts and perceptions of ‘folk’ define you, motivate you, drive your decisions (splatt!)
STOP!! forgetting how totally fabulous you are, and how crazy I AM about you (boom!)
STOP!! avoiding that fear of abandonment…recognize it, deal with it, rip it out from its roots (wow Father, going for the jugular are we?).
STOP!! putting so much trust in hu-man, when I AM the only One who can say “I’ll NEVER leave u NOR let u down” and it’s actually true (whamm!)

I read these sentences in A Course in Miracles and agreed, “Trials are but lessons that you failed to learn presented once again, so where you made a faulty choice before, you now can make a better one, and thus escape all pain that what you chose before has brought to you. In every difficulty, all distress, and each perplexity, Christ calls to you and gently says, My brother, choose again. He would not leave one source of pain unhealed, nor any image left to veil the truth.”

The great thing about Stop!! is that I get to START!! again…how cool and gracious it is to get another chance to make the best choice.  This time with the knowledge and experience of some hard knocks to remind me and cheer me along the way to my beautiful ‘Light’. Ashe.Selah

5 Responses to “Red Light, Green Light, Stop!!”

  1. Faraja Says:

    Wow. So I’ll be waiting to read your book/s one day…cos you write incredibly well. Really, you’re very gifted!

    I can relate to it all. From the fun childhood games (see me waving my hand *smile*) to the actual crux of this post – the STOPs from God. Oh how we need those STOPs to get us back on track and START again…being in relationship with God is truly amazing 🙂

  2. Jewells Says:

    This was deep on so many levels. I totally get it. Stop!!

    “Trials are but lessons that you failed to learn presented once again, so where you made a faulty choice before, you now can make a better one, and thus escape all pain that what you chose before has brought to you.”

    Wow! It makes so much sense now.

    I loved the analogy of the game of “red light green light” (which I loved back in the day and had forgotten about).

  3. ashe.selah Says:

    @Faraja: Thanks so much for the cheers girl! I look forward to sharing with you as a published author one day.

    Maybe as part of the book launch we could have this HUGE (make that GLOBAL, my Australian sis) red light, green light game lol…celebrating all of our STOPS, the courage to START again, and every lesson learned in between. Pure fun :)!

    @Jewells: Hey lady…thx a bunch for stopping by! It’s a great thing to be got lol…but it’s an even better thing when we finally GET our life lessons, even if it takes a few do overs.

    BTW, you’re invited too for global red light, green light :)!


  4. […] LOVE yourself and get the LOVE you need…” My mom told me yesterday, “you have to STOP being so strong, and learn how to grieve.” Of course she was referencing Daddy, but […]


  5. […] I’ve found the strength to get up and leave myself (again).  I wasn’t used to it, but I stopped taking anything people give me.  Stopped letting people use me.  Stopped accepting their personal […]


Leave a Reply

