Beware of the Vice Squad

February 1, 2008

They came for me outta no where today. The Vice Squad. They were pretty slick too. With all that’s been going on lately, I didn’t even see it coming, till it was in my space. Gotta hand it to them…those imps know strategy like nobody’s business — Let’s hit her as she grieves, as she yearns for comfort from pain unimaginable. Hmm…was that the plan?

Have you ever marked places within you “condemned”? Habits you were so done with, only to have situations arise to get you to go back into the condemned building — knowing good and well God’s wrecking crew demolished that place for a reason?

I locked the door and tossed the key over the tallest bridge a while ago, only to have the key mysteriously show up on my doorstep.

It matters not the key to what…we all have our own keys, our vices, our struggles. Even..scratch that…ESPECIALLY those of us who choose to follow Christ. I can only speak for me…slaying my flesh is a daily to-do lol. I’m a trip, and I know it. But anyway, feel free to fill in the blanks with your own experience while I talk with me :).

So, back to this key. The whole point of the Vice Squad (the enemy) is to present and entice you with things that connect to former lusts. Try to jumpstart their heartbeat … resuscitate their lungs. Need a visual? If you’ve walked away from craving crack, wouldn’t you know it….your old pusher, who you haven’t seen in ages, will appear on the scene…just to catch up on old times….WITH a freebie…mm hmmm. Beware.

So while I’m grateful to have never experienced a drug addiction, there are some other cravings I wish I would have never tasted. But this is how God uses us to help each other, right? If I can do it, so can you..and vice versa. Hmm.

So how’d I do today? I give myself a “C+”. That’s just a loving, yet stern reality grade letting me know I’ve still got work to do. I didn’t need to pick up the key…examine it like I didn’t know what it was, or why it was there. Next time girl…just walk away!…. And be very clear, there will always be a next time….charting your progress. So get sober…get your focus back. Ashe.Selah

Father, thank you for the gentle reminder to keep consecrating myself to You in this area. Please cleanse my hands and create a pure heart within me. You are my closest Confidant, and I have no fear to be transparent before You and tell You everything. Thank you for being Love, and draping me with Patience. It is my desire to respond consistently to You with “Yes” — in word and action. Ashe.Selah

One Response to “Beware of the Vice Squad”


  1. “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me…”
    Be blessed!


Leave a Reply

