R.I.P. Daddy

January 18, 2008

daddys_lap.jpgHe finished his course today…God’s decision was perfect and final…will be back to say more to myself later *smile*. For now, it is well! Ashe.Selah

1/22: OK. I never saw the memo. Or read the fax for that matter. Never had to. It should come as no surprise, tho, but it did. It’s a heck of a lotta work to plan a funeral! It really takes cloning yourself to get everything done…Whew! For the past few days, my second brain has been Mom. I gave her the title “sekki-tary” (secretary…for the challenged lol). She’s been step for step with me, pen and paper in tow, jotting…thinking of all the things I need to do, ask, say, don’t say, don’t do…so grateful.

Let’s see, how am I right now…….err…ummm…arra…Nope! No words yet. None sufficient to describe the depth and breadth of emotion….next!

I’ve been thinking alot about the chronology of things…the past 6 mos?….let’s see:
Aug. – Dad relos to L.A.
Sep. – Dad starts feeling ill…alot of falling
Oct. – He’s diagnosed with brain cancer
Nov. – We relo him back to ATL to care for him
Dec. – Speedy decline, on the front line of caregiving
Jan. – We lay him to rest

Wow…right now, it seems like everything happened so fast. Where’d the time go, ya know? But in actuality, if I look at the weeks and days and hours….it’s been such a long, hard road…for Dad first and foremost…but one graced with the favor of God nonetheless.

I remember thinking back in August, “Is this the last time I’ll see Daddy?” Guess the answer to that question was “No”. But I never saw him coming back with cancer, and I would have never picked this start for ’08. I know, who would right?

Hmm..then again, yeah, I did. The sweetness of rest compared to the way he suffered..the way we had to watch and couldn’t make it better, couldn’t make it stop… Come to think of it — Heck yeah!…this was the BEST start to ’08 that I never dreamed. What a gift…his rest…without agitation, fighting, never had a seizure…just simply took…his…last…breath, and went to sleep. A beautiful peace.

OK…all for now..next surge of energy, let’s talk family folks…lordy!

17 Responses to “R.I.P. Daddy”

  1. muisto Says:

    Oh I am so sorry! Lots of strength now for all of you. And may God’s comfort be just around you!
    “When light is gone, grief settles in. When grief leaves again, you’ll have the memory of light.”

  2. ashe.selah Says:

    Thank you sooo much Helen…for lighting up my space with your words…

  3. disgodkidd Says:

    may the Comforter comfort you all – He alone fully understands.

  4. disgodkidd Says:

    how are you doing?

  5. disgodkidd Says:

    i wanted to ask “and you can still write?” but i remember some of my best writings were done when i lost daddy and taught i would loose mom too. all things work together for good but…((((((((((((((((ashe.selah))))))))))))))))))) all the same. i know sometimes truth is not enough.

  6. garry b Says:

    Hello Ashe.
    I have mixed feelings about it all.On one hand you want them
    to be here with you and on the other hand;it’s hard watching them
    fade away right before your eyes.However,thank God that he knows
    when to call them home!Be strong and of good cheer,for God is
    Always near – garry b

  7. ashe.selah Says:

    Beautiful reminder, Garry…thank u 🙂

  8. Faraja Says:

    My condolences for your loss Ashe.Selah…I know I saw this post quite some time after it all happened, but I hope that you are still resting in the comfort and strength of Jesus.

    Thoughts & Prayers from Australia!!

    – Faraja

  9. ashe.selah Says:

    Bless u Faraja!…hasn’t been 2 wks yet, and it already feels like an eternity without him. So grateful for your thoughts and prayers girl…peace and love.


  10. […] I got the voicemail today that the death certificates were in, I think I got even more angry. Angry that life was trying to tell me he’s really, […]


  11. […] Daddy would always ask (making us think and answer our own questions), “But how do you perpetuate […]


  12. […] last year when we made the decision to take Daddy out of nursing care in L.A. and take care of him ourselves in the ‘A’, somebody had to […]


  13. […] to start feeling….different. A good different. Sure, I’d been there before, to visit Dad when he lived there, enjoyed Caesar’s Palace and the Strip. But whoda thunk in Vegas there […]


  14. […] You Almost Killed My Daughter! Gotta chance to attend a pretty cool party this past weekend…GNO baby (girl’s nite out)! It was my first outing in about a year. Feeling pretty strong and cute, I was ready to come out and play a little…ready to be around folks. Saw many faces I hadn’t seen in ages…some professional acquaintances, others more personal connections — for instance, an old friend’s mother. Now, this friend I speak of, let’s call her Amy…we’ve had no verbal in over a year, but we used to be tighter than tight…she was an extension of my family…even called my Daddy “Daddy” (Amy and her mom sent kind condolences when Dad passed in January). […]


  15. […] have to STOP being so strong, and learn how to grieve.” Of course she was referencing Daddy, but it’s like too hard to deal with him right now, because of the long line of other […]


  16. […] What’s the weirdest dream you’ve ever had? The one where my Daddy told me he faked his death for the insurance money, and was sorry. Boy he was really pleading his […]


  17. […] Let’s also just say, some things you don’t need to learn about people a month out of burying your Father (God, I still have questions about that timing thing…can a sistah catch a break in […]


Leave a Reply

