My Dominant Spiritual Gift – Mercy

September 28, 2007

I had never taken a Spiritual Gifts quiz before (thanks Faraja!), and to say the least, I couldn’t wait to see the results. Funny, I’d always had others tell me I had the gift of Mercy. Especially my sister girl’s hubby…he’d say lovingly lol, “Man, both of you have the Mercy gift…so warm and understanding…me and A are here to complement your gifts…” Thanks, B lol.

I also took a personality test in college…I am an INFJ . It’s pretty cool that only 1% of the population are INFJs…really rare. And INFJs operate mostly under the Mercy spiritual gift. What an honor.

So, here are my results. I’ve copied them here and bolded text that speaks loud to me. Take the test for yourself, and let me know who and where you are gifted spiritually. Love & Light =)!

—-

The results of your Spiritual Gifts Inventory indicate that your number one dominant gift is MERCY SHOWING! The Greek word “ellco” means to feel sympathy with or for others. As a mercy-shower you have the Spirit-given capacity and desire to serve God by identifying with and comforting those who are in distress. You understand and comfort your fellow Christian. You enter into the grief or happiness of others and have the ability to show empathy which is to feel WITH others, not just for others.

As a mercy-shower you are willing to deal with and minister to people who have needs that most people feel very uncomfortable working with. You seem to say the right thing at the right time. Your personality is likely one of soft-spoken love. It hurts you to scold someone; you are very non-condemning. People love you because of all the love you give them. You find it easy to express yourself and are outgoing with a low-key, inoffensive personality. You are easy to talk to, responsive to people, a good listener, peaceable, and agreeable. You tend to make decisions based on feelings more than fact and like to think about things for a while before making a decision.

In your burden to comfort others, your heart goes out to the poor, the aged, the ill, the underprivileged, and so on. You tend to attract people who are hurting or rejoicing because you identify with them. Be careful not to let others use you. Try not to resent others who are not as understanding as you. Refrain from becoming a gossiper when you are around other mercy-showers. Do not let your circumstances control you. Because of your supernatural ability to show mercy, others accuse you of taking up for people, being a softy and a compromiser. They may think you are too emotional.

Mercy-showers make excellent counselors. However, left untrained, you may destroy yourself by your tendency to take people’s problems home with you. Your empathy can become detrimental without personal training on how to deal with it.

Beware of Satan’s attack on your gift. He can cause pride because of your ability to relate to others. He may influence you to disregard rules and authority. You may experience a lack of discipline because of strong feeling for those who hurt due to disobedience and sin. Don’t fall into Satan’s trap of complaining and griping.

HOW CAN YOU USE YOUR GIFT? Your gift is used best in times of sorrow and in times of great joy. It fits well with another gift of service such as deacon, youth worker or hospital visitation. With a counseling course, you could become a good counselor. You may serve as a hospital, nursing home, or shut-in worker; a funeral coordinator and provider of sympathy and support; or a poverty center worker. You would do well as an usher or greeter and welcome center worker or hospitality person. You may want to work in a telephone ministry. You would make people feel welcome on a newcomer visitation team. Other appropriate ministry areas include missions, committee member, furlough assistance, and correspondence helper. You would work well with the elderly and with people who have mental and physical disabilities, in nursing, and with special ministries to migrants, released offenders or abused children and women.

5 Responses to “My Dominant Spiritual Gift – Mercy”


  1. […] I open wider…I want to see clearer…I want to feel with my deepest feelings every instance of Love God graciously pours out for me. I want to drink it up, soak it […]

  2. jessdager Says:

    WOW – I’m an INFJ too and have mercy gifts. Your post really resonated with me. I’ll be back! 🙂

  3. ashe.selah Says:

    Hey there jessdager…welcome! This info really hit “me” dead on the head. So glad it resonated with you too.

    My blog door is always open…stop by anytime, take care :)!

  4. CarolD Says:

    Hi, I have been blessed with the gift of mercy and so has my 17 yr old daughter. I love helping people in need and have a kind of radar that attracts people to me. I don’t mind, I am usually in a position to help and willing in anyway I can. My daughter is extremely troubled by her gift. Her gift “turns her into the hurting person and she feels what that person is actually feeling”. She has a friend who cuts herself and one morning she came downstairs with cutmarks on her arms. She said “her friend was in trouble and that she felt every cut the girl had made that night. She “becomes” that person at the time. She is really confused and scared and has kept this gift a secret for a long time because she thought she was crazy but now, she is troubled because she doesn’t know what to do with this gift or how to handle it. This is a God-given gift and HE gave it to her for a purpose. I just want to know where we can find more information on this gift and some steps we can take or people we can talk to to help her accept this gift as a true gift. Any books she can read or sites we can visit or people or persons experiencing this gift to this extent? You mention counceling coarses. Where and how? Right now her life is consumed with fear and feelings she can’t understand. Any information you have would be greatly appreciated. THank you,

  5. ashe.selah Says:

    Hi CarolD,

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and sharing your thoughts and concerns for your daughter. My heart really goes out for her, Carol. She’s experiencing some serious issues that would cause anyone to be confused and afraid, and I am troubled for her with you.

    First, I want to be clear….the notion of Spiritual Gifts in this post are God-given gifts for the support and building of the Kingdom of God and Christ-centered ministry. No tips and resources for psychic gifts here, but I can share God’s Love and His words in hopes that it lights your path and directs you further to the assistance you need…

    Some thoughts for all of us to consider:

    – Spiritual Gifts are a blessing from God, and God’s blessings make our lives rich and meaningful, adding NO sorrow, trouble, pain, or heartache (Prov. 10:22).

    – The Gift of Mercy comes with boundaries, where when we’ve done all that God would ask of us (when, where, how, and for whom), we then give that person over to His complete care through love and prayer. There are lines not meant to be crossed in the name of mercy and/or empathy, often a hard lesson to learn….was for me.

    – Finally, is cutting oneself, in response to the pain of others, purposed by God? God forbid. The Enemy/Satan/Devil’s goal is to pervert and counterfeit God’s blessings for his purpose. Your daughter is experiencing some serious spiritual warfare, much more than not knowing how to function in a Spiritual Gift.

    But I believe in the power of God, and as one who has hit rock bottom depression, suicide….If Jesus Christ can save me from that hopeless season in my life, I believe He can do the same for your daughter! Do you?

    I urge you, Carol, to find a local fellowship or group of Believers in the saving blood of Jesus. You can definitely fight better in an army, than you can by yourself *smile*. Here are also some resources for practical counseling and/or therapy, which may also help. Of course, do your own due diligence, and work with these groups as you feel comfortable.

    Carol, my prayers are with you and your daughter. Hope is not lost…it’s just beginning. God bless you and yours :)!

    Fellowships that may be helpful:
    Origins Church
    Redeemer

    Counselors/Therapists:
    S.A.F.E. Alternatives
    Therapist Locator

    Self Mutilators Anonymous
    “Self Mutilators Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other, that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from physical self-mutilation.”

    To locate a suicide helpline within your area of the world visit http://www.befrienders.org

    TeenHelp.org – Advice/Support site for teens

    GoAskAlice.com – “An interactive website run through Columbia University. It’s targeted for people ages 15-24 and you can post questions or experiences. You will have a response to your question from a health professional within 24 hours. It’s awesome because it’s anonymous and you can read through the posts.”


Comments are closed.