If…

September 4, 2007

If the only gift or talent you had in the world
Was the gift of true friendship,
Could I receive it, nurture it,
And you likewise receive mine?

If I were unable to speak
Could you put your ear to my chest
And translate every vibration of breath and beat?

If the moon quit the sky
Could they both find reason to love again
By looking down upon us?

If I could re-live any day in my life
Would it be out of fear
That I am unable to re-create magic today?

If I could erase any day from my life
How would I restore
The Strength and Character depleted from me?

If I never surrender to the unknown
Would knowledge ever find me
And arrest me?

If these questions are so rhetorical
Why are their answers
So intrigued to meet me
and I them, if…

Copyright (c) 2006. AsheSelah.com. All rights reserved.

3 Responses to “If…”

  1. disgodkidd Says:

    if i could rewrite my history
    i’d start from the first page
    and reprint every word

    if i could repaint my picture
    i’d start with white canvas
    and retrace every brush stroke

    if i were given another life
    i’d be me all over again
    He made no mistakes the first time.

    wow! i havent done poetry in too long. beautiful.

  2. asheselah Says:

    D!!!! More, More! This is beautiful man. I mean, really….if given the chance, would we be, live, look like ourselves all over again? Do I really trust that He made no mistakes?

    Thank you sooo much for sharing. You should post these verses on your blog…they will touch others as well — I’m sure =)!

  3. refinedone Says:

    ….He made no mistake the first time.
    for if I look back at the trail of tears, heartach and pain
    that brings me to Now!
    The Now! that has been birth by process, to stand with character
    and deliver destiny.
    No, He made no mistake the first time.


Leave a Reply

