And Our Last Semi-Finalist is…

August 13, 2007

“So, you wanna try out?”
“Yeah, Ma. And I can sing one of my songs.”

It was that time again for my creative daughter. Another opportunity to exercise her gifts and talents in front of the world. Well, more like 4 judges. She was 1 in 47 selected out of 125 kids for the McD’s The Gift Gospel Talent Competition. Conducted American Idol style, this was only her second casting call type thing in life. Nervous? Check! Prepared? Double check!

The place was so hot…people sighing and fanning like we were in a church with no A/C…. packed with wall-to-wall adults and kids waiting for the elimination phase to start. After two hours of solos from the kids, they brought the parents and kids back together to announce the 20 semi-finalists who would move on in the competition.

Scanning the group of kids sitting Indian style on the floor, I spotted my girl near the back of the group. The number on her chest was 62. Down to the last two numbers. My heart is racing so fast. I know her heart was racing too. “And our last semi-finalist is…” I could see my baby…eyes closed…hands together in a praying position in front of her face…lips moving. She was praying outwardly as hard as I was praying on the inside.

As much as I tried, I could not make the number 31 turn into 62. With all twenty numbers called, the kids “who are all still winners” (like they wanted to hear that at that moment lol) began to file out. Some began crying on the spot. My baby? Didn’t hit her until we got in the car. There, she let it out. “But I’m ready!…Why not me?!…I’m tired of No’s!”

Man. As much as I hate for my baby to hurt, getting acqauinted with rejection is a part of life — especially in the entertainment arena. If she’s gonna get that “Edgar” lol one day, she’s got to develop tough skin and learn never give up because someone told you No this time around. Spent the rest of the day pouring goodness into her…a balance of her wonderfulness, reminders of how blessed she is, sprinkled with the tough reality that everyone is not going to fall all over you all the time…and that’s OK chic!

The day after the audition, we were in Bible Study and she said the prayer. “…and Lord, help us to go through the No’s and be alright…” That’s what I’m talkin ’bout, baby girl!! God is orchestrating every experience she needs in life to fulfill her divine purpose. The best is yet to come…

3 Responses to “And Our Last Semi-Finalist is…”

  1. disgodkidd Says:

    wow. double wow. a beautiful prayer. at 26, i still wince everytime i get a NO.

  2. asheselah Says:

    D, I believe children are our teachers in so many ways. They embody how we are to relate to life and God =)!


  3. […] that last No almost knocked her out, but she was able to move past it. With this Yes, I can give my pep talks a […]


Leave a Reply

