Silent Light

February 22, 2007

Smiles are fascinating to me. They capture my attention and draw me in. I don’t even have to know the person. Just flash those pearly whites, pretty snags, or gummy love with a beautiful energy — and ya got me. I can actually get lost in a smile. Lost in its brilliance, its inaudible language of light that my heart hears, the story behind what it takes to pull one off in truth. You know what I mean. There are people who smile and you can feel THEIR happy bubbles in your own soul. Others smile and you nearly pass out from the fumes of a painted on grin. Yeah, you see a smile, but you never hear or feel the light – just silence [except for the crickets]. I’ve lived on both sides of this equation, but thankfully now a more frequent flyer of the former.

I had the opportunity this past weekend to travel with a friend and her wedding planner to find the ideal location for her wedding this year. On day two of our quest, while visiting resort 1 of 3, we stopped at a seafood restaurant, as was our custom the entire trip (yummy seafood!!!). I went into the restaurant first to get our table. Approaching me with menus and rolled silverware in hand was a nice gentlemen who simply said, “Hi, how are you?”, and continued to walk on by. I smiled and returned the greeting. Perhaps seeing past the eager expression on my face – right to my hungry gut, he says, “Oh, I won’t be seating you, but I am hiring greeters and you have the perfect smile..want the job?”

What a nice compliment. At that moment, I couldn’t help but wonder, “What did he see…my smile?” I wasn’t feeling particularly happy or sad…just famished actually. But something was there. Something that hadn’t been there for a while.

See, when you’ve experienced a total eclipse within and without, any resemblance of light from your being is a magnificent gift from God. Maybe you’ve had moments in life too, where you couldn’t find your smile OR even spell s-m-i-l-e if your life depended on it (wow, that sentence just rocked me into a grateful pause …………resume). Being buried under m-i-l-e-s of hurts can transform a smile into the proverbial needle in a haystack.

But….there’s good news! We are never too lost where the Most High cannot find us. It may seem like He’s taking the scenic route (God, are you lost?…[waving and leaping]…here I am!), but when we give time time to be Time (that’s for another blog), that surrender revives our smiles and fills them with all the radiant goodness Light has to offer – in abundance.

So, silent light no more. When I smile, the Light in my soul will be heard and its beautiful energy felt. Ashe.Selah

Leave a Reply

