That’s So Old News

January 19, 2007

Extra! Extra!

Man Walks on the Moon!
Gasoline-powered Cars Hit the Assembly Line!
I am Beautiful on the Inside and Out!

Did those first two headlines give you any warm fuzzies? Cartwheels anyone? No?

I recently finished reading The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. After spending time with all the Agreements, Agreement #2, “Don’t Take Anything Personally”, wore me out the best..LOL! But not just for shedding light on a habit of magnifying the simple, making mountains out of molehills and such. But for an interesting theory that deals with how well you know yourself.

Ruiz stresses that not only does he not take negative words or actions personally, but even praise, compliments, and accolades. Huh? Let’s keep it real. I love beautiful words spoken to me…I enjoy compliments and praises…I appreciate cheers and recognition from others. What’s this guy on?

Well, he’s onto himself….

Every beautiful word, compliment, praise, cheer, or recognition does not warrant a Macy’s Parade, cartwheels and back flips, or an Ahh Chorus from the angelic host! At some point, the beauty and goodness that lies within us — we know it soooo well that when we hear it from the lips of others…It’s so old news. Even the effect of the most sensational news eventually wears off with time and experience. Man walked on the moon?….Been there, heard that.

This is not to say that we are to receive compliments and praise from others without gratitude and appreciation (and don’t stop givin’ it up either…LOL!). But I agree to love myself, appreciate my gifts, talents, and abilities, adore the totality of my body, mind, and spirit so much, that others will not have the opportunity to reveal my value to me, as if I’m hearing it for the first time. I will weigh and live my life as an invaluable treasure, and write my own headlines. Ashe.Selah

This new agreement will take practice, just like the other three. But I will do my best at all times, without judgment or criticism (Agreement #4). The papers are signed, sealed, and delivered…

2 Responses to “That’s So Old News”

  1. refinedone Says:

    I agree with that “agreement” šŸ™‚

    If you value yourself and celebrate yourself, you’ll need no one to do it for you, before you feel it or know it…
    If you give any one the power to build you up, you give them power to bring you down too.

  2. asheselah Says:

    …Now that’s a very powerful truth…


Leave a Reply

